Welcome to the Read the World Project!

Hello there fellow reader! I’m Katie, some of you may know me from my BookTube channel where I also talk about books and have been doing so since 2015. My plan with this blog is to review books from all over the world.

At the end of 2015, I  realised that I had only read books written by authors from five countries – the US, the UK, Canada, Germany and Ireland. Additionally, nearly 85% of the books I read were written by American authors. It was strange to me that such a large proportion of the books I was reading came from the US as I’m not even American, I’m Irish born and bred. As someone who likes to learn and be exposed to new ideas, experiences and cultures in the books they read, I knew it was time to change my reading habits and start consciously reaching for books by authors from countries I didn’t generally read from.

In 2016, I made it my primary goal for the year to read books by authors from around the world and I managed to read books written by authors born in over 20 countries. This was a wonderful experience for me, however, I felt that my progress was difficult to track and share on my YouTube channel. I figure a blog will be a better place to share my progress and that’s how we ended up here!

My goal for this blog is to share written reviews of the ‘international’ books I read. I’m going to try and avoid reviewing books written by US and UK born authors because let’s face it, tracking those books down and finding reviews of  many of them isn’t much of a challenge. I probably will post reviews of books by authors from other English speaking countries occasionally, however, the emphasis on this blog over the next year at least will be reviewing books from as many unique countries around the world as I can manage. I’m aiming for 30 unique countries this year so that should hopefully mean lots of reviews. I will also be writing posts on international reads on my radar and I have a few other plans up my sleeve.

I’m excited to go on this journey and I hope you’re excited to join me!

4 thoughts on “Welcome to the Read the World Project!

  1. I’m looking forward to what you share! I found the same issue with what I was reading, and a lot of them were written by white male authors. I’m hoping to expand my reading in this upcoming year and find more diverse books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

