Diverse Anthologies I Want to Read

Short stories aren’t generally my thing but there are a few amazing sounding anthologies featuring authors from around the world that I desparately want to get my hands on. Basically, I am weak and cannot resist an interesting sounding blurb.


invisible-planets

.

Invisible Planets An Anthology of Contemporary Chinese SF in Translation  edited by Ken Liu

This is one I’ve been meaning to pick up for so long. This one is pretty much exactly what it say on the tin – contemporary Chinese science fiction translated by Ken Liu. It’s got stories by famous Chinese authors like Cixin Lu who won the Hugo Award for his novel The Three Body Problem. There are also academic essays on the nature of Chinese science fiction.


the-sea-is-ours

.

The Sea is Ours: Tales of Steampunk from South East Asia edited by Jaymee Goh and Joyce Chng

This is a collection of stories by authors from and set in South East Asia. Steampunk is not something I’ve read much of but it’s something I’ve wanted to explore a little bit and think this anthology might provide me a great place to start.


africa-39

.

Africa 39: New Writing From Africa South of the Sahara edited by  Ellah Wakatama Allfrey

 This one is a collection of writings by authors from Subsaharan Africa. It came out last year and was quite popular among some of my friends on booktube who enjoyed the collection overall. I’ve only read a few African authors so I hope that this might help me find a few new favourites.


beirut-39

 

Beirut 39: New Writing from the Arab World edited by Samuel Shimmon

This anthology is the Arab equivalent of Africa 39. It features 39 pieces of writing by 39 emerging Arab talents. I struggled last year with picking up Western Asian authors so my hope is that this anthology will expose me to some new voices and help me correct that defect in my reading.


 

So that is it, those are the anthologies that are on my tbr pile at the moment. I know that there are probably a tonne of other gems out there that I should read but I figure that I probably should start small and not burn myself out on short stories in 2017.

If you have any suggestions for anthologies you thing I should look into, feel free to let me know!

2 thoughts on “Diverse Anthologies I Want to Read

Leave a Reply

