Books by Authors From the Countries Affected by the #MuslimBan

I have been feeling a great degree of upset, anger and frustration over Trump’s racist Muslim ban preventing travellers from specific countries from entering the US as well as the biased, hypocritical way in which he selected the countries on the list. While I feel helpless in this regard, I do realise that reading is an inherently political act so I decided to compile a list of books by authors from these countries that I want to read over the next year or so. While one story cannot represent a whole country that is where I’m going to start and I can read more stories from each country in the future.

…..embroideriesmadmananubis

Iran

Embroideries by Marjane Satrapi is a graphic novel which is described by Goodreads as an entertaining and enlightening look at the sex lives of Iranian women. Not what I usually go for but I loved Satrapi’s Persepolis so I have a feeling I’ll enjoy this!

Iraq

The Madman of Freedom Square by Hassan Blasim is a collection of short stories set during the Iran/ Iraq War and occupation and is described as ‘present[ing] an uncompromising view of the relationship between the West and Iraq, as well as a haunting critique of the postwar refugee experience.’ This seems like an incredibly important thing to read about right now.

Libya

Anubis: A Desert Novel by Ibrahim Al-Khoni is a novel following the people who live in the desert and how this harsh landscape has shaped their lives. Lybian Tuareg folklore about the Egyptian god Anubis is also weaved into the story. Al-Khoni is a well known Lybian author and I’m a sucker for anything to do with Ancient Egypt so I’m excited to buy this one after my book buying ban ends.

sweet-and-sour-milkminaretdamascus-nightsthe-hostage

Somalia

Sweet and Sour Milk by Nuruddin Farah chronicles one man’s search for the reasons behind his twin’s violent death in 1970s Somalia. Farah is a very prominent Somali novelist who has won multiple prizes for his works so his work should hopefully be a good starting point from which to jump into Somalia fiction.

Sudan

Leila Aboulela’s Minaret follows a Sudanese woman who was privileged and secular in her homeland but who has now emigrated to London, is very poor and has decided to start embracing her religion and wearing a hijab. I’ve read very few books with hijabi protagonists so this was one I was happy to add to my to be read pile.

Syria

Damascus Nights by Rafik Schami is one I’ve had on my tbr pile for a while but there is interestingly enough a queue for the one copy of it in my city’s library system. It follows the story of the best story teller in Damascus who has mysteriously lost his voice so his friends come together at night and tell stories to him to break the spell. A story about story telling is one of the things that I will immediately add to my tbr so no wonder this one is on there.

Yemen

Finally, there aren’t too many books by Yemeni authors published in English but thanks to A Year of Reading the World’s blog post I’m planning to pick up The Hostage by Zayd Mutee’ Dammaj. It is set in Yemen before the Immam’s revolution and follows a young boy who is taken hostage by the Immams in order to secure his father’s political obedience. Hopefully this will give me some context about the Yemeni political climate around the time when this was written which may help me to better understand the tensions between Iran, Saudi Arabia and Yemen which have lead up to this horrific proxy war that is taking place.

If you’re looking for more books by Muslim authors, check out #muslimshelfspace on twitter for recommendations. This is an area where my reading is sorely lacking so I want to work on improving this over the course of the year.

Anyway, do feel free to let me know if any of these books sound good to you or to give me recommendations for books by authors from the seven countries affected or Muslim authors from other countries. Until next time, take care of yourselves and look after those around you.

Featured Image Photo Credit: Peter DaSilva/EPA via the Telegraph.

8 thoughts on “Books by Authors From the Countries Affected by the #MuslimBan

  1. Thank you for this list of books! Like you, I see reading as a political act. I’m also trying to do more than that, but I am struggling to figure out what to do to help refugees and other people Trump has targeted. On the most recent executive order, all I’ve done so far is call my senator–the one who has been silent–to tell him to oppose it publicly. It isn’t enough, though (obviously). I’ve been participating in protests too, but that isn’t enough either.

    Like

    1. Not living in the US I feel even more helpless, beyond ringing my the office of our prime minister to leave a message urging him not to go to Washington for St Patrick’s Day I don’t feel I can do much more. At least this post and reading these books let’s me feel like I’m protesting in another way 🙂 Thanks for reading!

      Like

  2. Wow, I just wrote about the exact same thing today! Great minds think alike, and I hope I see more of this today!! I set my recommendations up as a 3-part series, and also featured Leila Aboulela and Zayd Mutee’ Dammaj (I found a very interesting article about the lack of Yemeni literature, and the slow increase in Yemeni novels published since 2014 – although most of them have not been translated into English).

    Like

  3. Thanks for being such a great resource, Katie! Love all the research you put into your videos and blog posts. I had planned to read more Muslim voices as a result Muslim Ban, but didn’t think to specifically read books from the countries affected. This makes so much sense.

    Like

    1. Thanks Naz 🙂 Researching this took a good while but it was fun and enlightening and I ended up learning a lot about the publishing industry in the different countries. Own voices Muslim books are really important too, I have a few on my tbr that I’m eager to get to along side these books!

      Like

Leave a Reply

